Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The Sill has opened

We had a committee meeting for the Walking Festival this morning. We missed Geoff, not that we are envious about the cruise he and Sandy are on!

All is going well towards the festival. The teams are decided and now we have to organise recces. I have the website to update and the printed programme to complete. I find this a rather intense time, but it's great when it's finished.


The front cover of the programme was agreed and is  a special secret for now. Printing will be done next week.

On my way home, I called in at the newly opened Sill just south of Steel Rigg on Hadrian's Wall. It's billed at the National Landscape Discovery Centre and it is "state of the art". There is a new youth hostel and all the rooms are en suite. I gather it is too early for the permeating smell of sweaty socks to have embedded itself into the building!

I had hoped to take Mum to see it, but it's far too busy and confusing. Children will love all the interactive displays. The one I photographed is on the floor in the foyer and it just keeps changing. Sometimes it is a map of the Cheviots (shown, plus photobomber), sometimes it's moving boot prints, or a flying curlew or tiny footprints.

I had difficulty parking so I think we will wait until it calms down a bit.

University Challenge soon, but Only Connect has moved to Fridays. What is wrong with the BBC?!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.