Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A visit to Wallington Hall

This morning I signed off the proof for the printed programme.

Tick

Then I worked all morning on an article I've been writing about my trip to Sifnos, In the Footsteps of Henri Cartier-Bresson. I'm happy with the images and the text, so I clicked send on the email.

Tick

The close-up flower photos I've been mounting for the forthcoming exhibition in the Carriages at Bellingham are complete and I've even written and printed the bio about myself that has to accompany them.

Tick

This afternoon, Mum and I went to Wallington to see the Embroiderers' Guild exhibition about Capability Brown. Mum has an embroidery in there and hers is on one of the pillars in this beautiful central hall. It was originally an open courtyard, then it was roofed over and the Pre-Raphaelite artist, William Bell Scott, painted  eight elaborate murals on the walls.

Today was a big first, because Mum had a ride in a wheel chair from the car to the house. The distance is just too much for her now. She was able to walk around the house and even ascend to the first floor to see more embroideries.

The place was very busy and children were excitedly trying to find furry toy squirrels that were hidden around the house. They had little thought for the possibility of knocking anyone over in their quest.

Did I mention that I need an L plate because I nearly tipped Mum out of the wheelchair at the first kerb.  She hung on and I was more careful from then on!!


A photograph of Mum's embroidery and a bit about her is in the Hexham Courant today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.