Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Unparalled

When it comes to aerial gymnastics, not much can beat a hummingibrd. Of course, in the good looks department, the hummers get some competition when a  Hooded Warbler, still in brilliant plumage shows up (YardBird #46, photographically speaking).  So, as you can see, I was in a quandary when it came to posting my blip.  Still not sure which one I like best, even though the warbler was shot through the kitchen window (after Kura spotted it while we were sitting at the kitchen table).  Anyhoo...picked the hummer.  Besides, thought you'd like to see how well Team Hummie is doing in their practice rounds!

We had heavy rains again today, but none of the crazy action that I saw yesterday with the hummers.  I have to say that I've never seen them behave in quite that way - it was pretty amazing.  If you missed it, I posted a link at the bottom of yesterday's blip.  Worth a look.  

We celebrated the July birthdays with Ellen and Kura in grand style yesterday starting with Prosecco and some fabulous cheeses, melon and prosciutto then followed with dinner of cedar-planked salmon and a fabulous pinot noir.  We laughed and reminisced and did a fair amount of swearing through several rounds of dominoes.  Great fun, as always.  Kura stayed over so she and I continued the dominoes today (since the weather was too wet to spend time outside).  I've just taken seen her onto the bus back to NYC - another great weekend in the rear view mirror.

I posted three other hummer shots on Flicker, starting HERE with P-Hummie bustin' a move.  

And don't forget that the AOG officially kicks off on 5 August!  Up until the start of the Games, tag your entries of your athletes in training AOG2016.  Once the games begin, tags will be AOG followed by the date (AOG5, AOG6, etc).  Spread the word, please!  Let's make this our best Games yet!

Cheers...
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.