ME AND TOM

There were 10 of us for breakfast including three children so you can imagine the scene.  Most had omelettes cooked by Sean - Mike's brother in law.  Even baby Arthur was happy to munch on a bit of omelette and a corner of a bagel.  I had cereal with a glass of orange juice

Then Becky, Mike and me went for a walk.  Even though Mike's Mam and Dad live on a housing estate you just need to turn a corner and you are out in the countryside.  The weather was warm and dry and it was nice to get out in the fresh air. 

We walked through the grounds of Charnwood College and came across this sculpture.  There was no plaque to say what it meant.  So when we got home we asked Mike's Mam whether she knew anything about it.  She had a vague memory which I have researched further. Turns out the hand sculptured memorial has been there since 2009 and is in honour of a former student of the college - Tom - an 18 year old young man who died of cancer.  He was a keen sportsman and the sculpture is holding a ball in its left hand and there is a metal LiveStrong band around the right wrist. His family often visit the sculpture to sit beside Tom - and tell him the latest news.

After our walk we returned for coffee and a chat.  Mikes sister, husband and children packed up their car ( not an easy task when you have the trappings of 3 children with you as well as duvets, bedding, a gazebo and a BBQ ) and went off home.

Then the five who were left  went to The Priory - a pub/restaurant -  for a meal.  The others had roast beef, yorks pud etc and I had salmon with spiced potatoes and roasted veg which was very tasty.

After a while Becky and Mike left to start the long drive back to London. I stayed until around 4.10pm and then Mikes Mam and Dad gave me a lift to the train station. My train left Loughborough at 4.30pm.( they don't believe in getting there early )

The journey home was trouble free - changed trains at Leeds. The only minus point was that a group of very drunk (and scantily clad) girls got on the train at Durham on their way to Newcastle.  They didn't have seats so they stood in the aisle.  They sung rude songs and kept showing everyone their knickers!  And this was at 8pm.  Goodness knows what state they would be in later on. The mind boggles.

Didn't have to wait long in Newcastle for a bus and I got off in the village and walked the rest of the way.  Got in the house at 915pm.

Tino and Lily were very pleased to see me.  The cat sitter had put some photos and a little video on her Facebook page and I had seen them when I was on the train.  Only Tino appeared though as the cat sitter never saw Lily at all.  Par for the course.

So last evening I was merrily checking emails on the computer, uploading photos etc ready to post my blip when the internet went off.  Disaster.  Fiddled about with various wires, re-booted the router --- nothing.  So I just had to go to bed.

All is fine this morning so this is a backblip. My extra shot shows Becky in the woods showing her love of the outdoors.

Apologies for lack of comments - of course I had intended catching up last night but I was thwarted.

PS Neil is having a great time in Dublin - been on a tour of a whiskey distillery and on a boat trip.

Steps today - 10,224

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.