Young Male Northern Flicker

I am feeling a bit less overwhelmed after getting many small chores completed today. I am gathering stuff and getting organized to pack two people for two places. My packing includes not just my clothes but my painting supplies. Arvin's includes his meds and supplies and of course his clothes too. And this week is so full I have to get to it now or I'll be in trouble come Saturday when it's time to take Arvin to his destination and Sunday when I leave for mine. Not to mention getting the house and kitty stuff ready for my friend Sue who will be house sitting for us. And to top it off, I will be painting in the Bellingham Plein Air Paint Out on Saturday and going to an opening at the Jansen on Thursday. Phew!!!

I delivered the last of my four paintings to the Jansen Art Center this morning. Arvin's bus was right on time so I was able to get to the J in plenty of time for them to hang my paintings. I was glad. I was only able to manage because Trish came to my house last night and dropped off the painting. She had taken down the show at the Colophon and my painting was in that show. She went way beyond the call of duty to bring it over to my house and I am so grateful. Now the painting is at the J with three others. When I was talking to the folks at the J and finalizing the paperwork on my paintings, the fellow said that he was hanging my paintings in the entrance because they were so "dynamic." I was really chuffed. He asked if I minded. (Are you kidding?) I told him not at all and thanked him for the complement and for putting my paintings right in the front. I'm still feeling amazed and pleased about that. The show opening is Thursday night from six to eight pm. If you are nearby, please come on to see the show. The Jansen is on Front Street in Lynden, WA.

I took this photo on the deck this afternoon after Arvin got home. He was taking a nap and I was relaxing on the deck. A couple of Northern Flickers kept dropping by but taking off the minute they realized I was there. Then this young one stuck around long enough for me to get some close up photos. He was in the shade so the ISO is pretty high and the photos are a bit grainy. But never mind. I am happy with this close up of his feathers and the details of his face. I had my 200-800 mm equivalent lens on my camera and he almost didn't fit in the photo at 200. This is not cropped at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.