Pick Your Own

One of the places His Lordship and I always liked to visit was Craigies Farm on the outskirts of Edinburgh on the way to the Forth Road Bridge, but without a car we have found it impossible. Today, a friend who was going there to pick fruit kindly offered me a lift which is why you might have found me in amongst the black currant bushes trying to get the hang of the quickest most effective way of filling my plastic punnet and then getting my hair caught up in the low branches of cherry trees as I scooped handfuls of dark red cherries into a second punnet. If I'm honest I will say that a few blackcurrant and cherries were delivered to my mouth rather than the plastic box, but there was no one looking or counting. The raspberries in the blip were bought at the ready picked stall. It is going to be a fruity dessert tonight.

Now home and pulling bits of twig out of my hair while stuffing cherries into my mouth at a rate determined by the speed of getting rid of the stones, I was delighted to hear the voice of my friend o.m.ts at the end of a phone calling from Ireland. I do miss our Monday get togethers in the flesh, but it's always good to chat on the phone.

I am beginning to wish I hadn't eaten all those cherries..............

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.