Tiny Tuesday

I went to a friend's garden house this afternoon. Many Austrians have a small wooden house at the bottom of their garden or on a piece of land near a lake. Many people who have these garden houses live in flats so a piece of land where they can spend a summer afternoon entertaining or gardening is very welcome. There is usually running water in a small kitchen and solar power for a fridge or coffee machine. Tables and chairs, sun umbrellas, a few coldies and company - what more could you want? Her garden is near a local lake and is fantastic teeming with butterfies, birds and bees. It clouded over this afternoon so not many butterflies were seen but the bees were crowding this Milkweed flower. My friend gave me some seed pods last year which I blipped, see here. I wasn't able to grow the seeds but she gave me some plants and I still have one that I didn't manage to kill. It is unlikely to flower this year but I hope to have flowers (and bees) next year.
Thanks to osuzanna who is hosting this month. 
The extra is an interesting find in the garden - 11 snake eggs discovered when digging up some plants. The snakes are not poisonous but will be moved to an area away from the house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.