Davaar Island across Kildalloig Bay

15.5C bright and sunny. Plenty of cloud around. One or two showers late afternoon. Wind to 22 mph with gusts to 32 mph (through the night wind to 33 mph with gusts to 53 mph).

After lunch Maeve the Deerhound and I went for the repeat of our usual morning walking route across the road and round to the park and the harbour and back along through town.

Once Maeve was back home and settled I went for a walk. Runrig (The Stamping Ground then In Search of Angels) on the iPod Mini. I went round to the harbour and had a wander round the new quay. I was reading this morning about a small fishing boat that was refloated last week in the harbour after it had sunk. It is now at the street end of the new quay, out of the water and looking rather the worse for wear.

I went along by the ferry terminal and followed the shore side of the park and on out Kilkerran road to the NATO jetty at Glenramskill and then kept going until I reached the Doirlinn. I had a wander out to the near end of the Doirlinn but didn't go out further. The tide was just about to cover the path.

I carried on along the road past the 69 mile marker on the Kintyre Way to Kildalloig Bay and Davaar house then turned to come back. The tide had started to cover the path on the Doirlinn. Within minutes it would be under water with only the beacon and the heap of shingle and shells alongside above the surface.

I came home the way I had gone then went back along the street side of the park and home though town passing the hall where an exhibition, Campbeltown - Success built in stone, which tells the story of the town through its architectural heritage has just opened. We plan to go and see it tomorrow afternoon. I carried on across Main Street, past the town hall and the second hand bookshop, then came through the little square and finally along the road home.

Afternoon music ... Pam Tillis, Sweetheart's Dance. Julie Fowlis, Uam.

E-PL5 f/10 1/400 sec. ISO-200 18mm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.