ON THE BALANCE BEAM

Gold for the perfect performance of the Minstrel Bug on the balance beam.
It seemed that everybody held their breath during her outstanding and magical exercise. And then the applause that went on and on, when the points were delivered and her place on the victory podium was assured.
I had the opportunity to meet her afterwards and ask her some questions, after I had congratulated her with her incredible, elegant dance. Yes, I have to admit it looked more a dance than a gymnastic performance.
The first question I asked her was if she had started at an early age, or only later when she had developped a mature body.
Her answer was surprising. She said that she thanked it all to her parents who had discovered at a very early moment that she had an extraordinary talent for holding on the stems. They had stimulated her and yes, they had desired that she made her exercises every minute of the day, and even sometimes at night, when the moon shone brightly.
And, I asked, how did you feel about that?
She beamed full of joy, I simply liked it. The attention of my dear mom and dad, I felt so loved and I gladly did everything they asked for.
But, I have to tell you, that a thing like that can go very differently, for instance my cousin Sandra was talented too, but she hated to perform all the time.
Her parents forced her too much and now she has moved to a different bush and does only the things she really likes. I don't blame her, but am happy that I had much more luck. I still live near my parents and that suits me well.
There was no time left for other questions. A queue of persons were waiting for a little conversation with the champion.

Thanks to osuzanna for hosting this wonderful Tiny Tuesday Challenge.
And I also thank heartily dbifulco for hosting the Alternative Olympic Games.

I gave three more hearts to the Derelict Sunday participants, Mambo, soletrader and Inverculain.

My extra photo shows another big moment of the shield bug's performance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.