Bright and Beautiful

By ThingsBeautiful

Weaving, Spinning and....

Dyeing (well not me but the process above)!

Today I have been visiting the local group of Weavers, Spinners and Dyers with a friend who is a member :) Its a fun group, where people are in little groups of weavers, spinners or dyers (but some people just bring knitting or something like that). I took some braiding I'm doing to make something I have an idea about (and will show you more another day)! I learnt a lot too! Halfway throught the day they have a business meeting and talk about where they're exhibiting next etc. Its a group I might join one day, but at the moment have no spare time (or money) really. I've not been there before, but quite enjoyed my day.

There was a dyeing demonstration which was really interesting and this is the subject of my blip. I have made a collage once again.

Firstly the undied wool is soaked (top left) in maudent but for how long I can't remember. For those interested apparently you can get this from somewhere like Fibrecraft (I think its a website). Mordant is a fix for colours used in 'dyeing' as I understand it (some blippers may know more, I don't really understand).

The next step is to 'cook' for one hour the substance you are turning into dye. These are mostly natural plants!

Today they used:

Golden Rod (bottom left)~yellow
Weld~brighter yellow
Logwood~purple/grey depending on the % of 'mordant' used
Cutch~oranges and browns depending on strength again

When the plant is liquified you stir the wool in and watch it change colour (top right)

If you like you can test if you can use an 'acid' or 'alkali' to see if you can make the colour lighter or darker. Today they used vinegar and water, and soda crystals and water, but neither worked. Apparently its trial and error!

Finally you hang it out to dry. Typically of course the heavens opened but a big umbrella was used to 'protect' the drying wool (centre pic).

After its dyed you can do almost anything with it :)

I found this so interesting, I hope you do too.

Not sure I would try doing it though, I think you need lots of space (oh and large metal pans and camping gaz cookers) and that's something I don't have. Its best to do where there is lots of air as well because the smell can be very strong.

Have a good weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.