FLOWER FRIDAY - NIGELLA OR LOVE-IN-A-MIST

I have been trying to sort out today’s blip for sometime, but there is so much going on outside with various birds on our feeders that I am drawn away time and again to take photographs of them.  Already this morning we have had robins, blackbirds feeding young, blue tits, great tits and long tailed tits.  Last night we spent a long time just sitting in the conservatory after our meal watching the various antics of the birds and especially the greater spotted woodpecker - I think they like our food!  

However, for my Flower Friday blip, I decided on this pretty little Nigella, commonly known as Love-in-a-Mist.  I thought we had lost them, but they suddenly appeared, and I knew they would be blipped one day.  The flowers are so pretty with their delicate petals, leaves like fronds and their beautiful seed heads.  They sway beautifully in the wind and the sunshine enhances their pale blue petals - what a joy to see them.  

Can’t stop to write much more today as I have a fence to paint - and we have American visitors coming next week, so need to try and get everything looking good.


"A garden must combine
     the poetic and the 
          mysterious
               with a feeling of
                    serenity and
                         joy."
Luis Barragan

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.