South Brighton in a southerly

I had a tramping book to pick up over at South Brighton today. It's a part of the city that took an absolute hammering in the earthquakes. I really do feel for people in this part of town.

The trees in the sand dunes are bent from the north east where our predominant wind comes from. It fair honks in off the sea through much of spring, summer and into autumn.

My day started early with my running group. The weather was wet and cold so we did a shortened version of our strength programme omitting the stuff on the ground. The hardest part is getting out the door, the next hardest bit is the brief standing around waiting to get underway. But it's all worth it and I'm happy with how my running is progressing. I'm not breaking down and that's the main thing.

I had envisaged a cosy afternoon with my new second hand tramping book, dreaming up trips, and watching a bit of the Olympics. But the bit where I spilled brine the trout is curing in liberally throughout the fridge.

Oh well, the fridge is clean ;-)

I usually rub a mix of salt and brown sugar into the fish and leave it to cure. This time I've butterflied a rainbow and put it in a salt and sugar brine. It will be interesting to see what the difference is like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.