a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Visiting but not royalty

This common darter Dragonfly visited our little garden pond a little while ago this afternoon.   This is the male of the species, he did have a a female in tow (literally) but she disappeared before I was able to get a shot of her.

Its been a busy Saturday of chores so far today.  After the inevitable weekend cleaning I've re-waxed my Barbour jacket, and currently have some bread rolls in the oven. 

The re-waxing is an interesting process, and not something I have tried before.  It is rather messy, as you need to warm the wax and then rub it into the fabric.  You finish it off with a hairdryer and leave for 24 hours in the airing cupboard.  Early signs are that its been a success.

I talked to my brother-in-law Stephen about bread making when we saw him and his wife, earlier in the week.  Stephen is quite an experienced baker and has also attending courses on the subject, as a result he understands the chemistry of the process and was able to give me some valuable tips which I've applied in my last couple of baking sessions with good results. I have my fingers crossed for these rolls :-)

Tonight is also curry night chez Greg, and I am intending to cook Cathy a Lamb Karai, (having enjoyed the one in Mother India so much I've got some ideas I want to try out) so there is still plenty to do yet.  I actually rather enjoy cooking, as I can listen to music in the kitchen with a beer, whilst doing it.

I hope you are all enjoying your weekends too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.