At the Featherdale Wildlife Park

This morning S received a txt from her dentist wishing her happy birthday; at 0600 am! Okay, it was 0800 in Auckland; but it is Sunday. The grandchildren had written in a card which they gave her when she had fully surfaced, and finished her first coffee. Lots of messages on her Facebook page.

After breakfast we went to the Wildlife Park, where we stayed for almost three hours. Had I still been counting the bird species I have photographed, today would have given the numbers a big boost. I'm not quite sure about the propriety of photographing caged birds for such a project. Which I'm not pursuing this year. The Australian pelicans were not in a cage, and the cormorants and egrets in the same area were flying up into the surrounding trees. 

Lunch at Blacktown, where we also got a replacement for the suitcase which arrived here with a broken zip. Then back to Springwood. Where I remained unable to locate my keys which I hadn't found before we went out. Figured that the only thing that made sense was that I had foolishly had them in my pocket when we went out yesterday, and had then let them fall out of my pocket. 

Totally annoyed with myself. As distraction, I started to look at my photos, and was given a glass of red wine just before the birthday dinner. Managed to knock that over onto the carpet. Mopped up as much as I could with my handkerchief, before a larger and more absorbent cloth arrived. When I took that to put it into the laundry bag in my case I dropped it on the floor amongst the bits of Lego. Where I saw my keys.

I doubt that either Tsuken or Mrs T agreed that it had been necessary for me to spill the red wine on their carpet so I could find my keys.

I think I've been forgiven.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.