DERELICT SUNDAY - HARVESTING THE CORN

We had a good service at Church, following which, while everyone else was enjoying home-made cakes and coffee, I ate my banana and drank my water.  Today is the last day of my Daniel Fast, but I must be careful in the next few days, because I don’t want to undo all the good work I have done in the last three weeks.

After church we went up to our favourite spot to take a photograph of some more dereliction - we are fortunate that there are plenty of opportunities in this particular place, which is not too far.  The corn was being harvested in a nearby field, so Mr. HCB stayed with the car and was watching that and some birds, while I decided to walk down the lane to one of the derelict buildings.  

A tractor came down behind me and I acknowledged the driver, who opened his window, as he obviously wondered what I was up to!  I asked if he was the farmer, and he confirmed he was, so I explained about blipping.  I told him I was only taking photographs I wasn’t doing any damage, and he said that was fine.  I told him he had some lovely dereliction - he probably thought I had taken leave of my senses, but he just drove on - and even waved when he came back, so he obviously didn’t mind.

I’ve taken the framework of this building before, but Mr. HCB said I’m not likely to see a combine harvester together with a tractor and trailer, at least until next year, so here is my Derelict Sunday blip for this week.

On our way home, we stopped in a lay-by just under Liddington Hill so that I could take some photographs of various flowers and insects and also the corn bales and whilst we were there we saw red kites, buzzards and kestrels, so Mr. HCB was delighted - but sadly I didn’t get any decent shots of them.

A large people carrier came and parked in the lay-by in front of us and the lady driving was obviously on her phone.  She eventually got out and told us they were lost.  She said they had come from Cardiff and asked us if we could tell her which way she should go to get to Newbury.  It transpired she, a friend and her children were on their way to Jane Austen’s house at Chawton, but Google had obviously sent them the wrong way when they came off the M4 at Junction 14.  Mr. HCB told her which way to go and showed her on our road map book, but as she was rather confused, we gave her the book and although she protested, we told it we needed a new one anyway - so waving to us, off they went.  I hope they get there before the house closes!  The moral of this story is “Never trust Google - or at least make sure you have a road map in the car too!”

I wonder if they thought this:

“Getting lost is just another way 
     of saying 'going exploring’.” 
Justina Chen

P.S.  Apologies for no comments yesterday - but thank you for all yours and the stars and heart - I didn't feel too good in the evening, so went to bed at 7 p.m. I think the paint fumes had got to me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.