Looking Up

I took this photo while lying on my back on a towel in the park. Arvin, Helena and I were there being quiet while all around us families were enjoying the sunny day at the beach. I liked the patterns of light and shadow in the leaves above me.

I picked Arvin up this morning at The Bellingham. He was lying down and when he saw me come into his room, he visibly brightened and said, "that's my wife!" We gave each other a long hug and then I packed up his things and we drove over to Helena's to pick her up. The plan was to spend a quiet day together and we did well with that. We all had cheese sandwiches and tomato soup for lunch and then drove over to Bloedel Donovan Park.

We had a good time there with one exception. Somehow Arvin managed to lie down on his glasses and they broke. I don't know if they were his current glasses or his backup ones. Unfortunately one of the two pairs disappeared while he was at The Bellingham. I went back over there to check through their stash of found glasses. Sadly they weren't Arvin's. I did pick up some other stuff I had forgotten when I picked him up.

Arvin told me he doesn't want to go to another place like that unless he really has to. So next time I take a week's break we will find a plan B. It's not that the place was bad. It was just disorienting for him and he was very uncomfortable. I had noticed that when I talked to him so already I realized I don't want to have him go anywhere other than home if at all possible. If I must for my own health and sanity, I will place him. But certainly not yet. I could see that most of the residents were way beyond Arvin and that was depressing for him too. So in home care it is for as long as is possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.