Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Who says that Russians are unfriendly?

This is my third attempt to type my blip. Here's hoping I don't lose all the text again.

We left London in glorious sunshine and arrived in St Petersburg in grey drizzle.

Our guide is Igor. He is doing his best, but he is suffering from a cold. He is very rotund and walks with difficulty. I noted that he has blisters on his heels - wearing shoes without socks may not be a good move after all. His cough sounds quite bad - perhaps he should give up the cigarettes.

I think he may jollied up, but I don't want to get within a germ's throw of him.......

He gave us some info on the coach and, after we had checked in, took us to see the local supermarket, a covererd market (see blip) and a Georgian restaurant he recommended. The supermarket can give Waitrose a run for its money. What a huge range of good from all over the world.

The covered market was for fruit and veg, meat, fish and cheese.

The restaurant did not live up to expectations........

The hotel seems more than adequate, although we have a group of smokers outside under our window which we would like to keep open.

We are getting to know our fellow travellers and I think we will get on fine.

Did I mention leaving my laptop and coat at the hotel? All was well in th end...........!

The three women in this group were taking a selfie so I photographed them doing it. They were then very happy to pose for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.