a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Lovers are mortal

Abstract Thursday: mirrors and cemeteries

"In the back of your car
Where the light from the stars
Caught our eyes in a moment of blue
It was then that I knew
All my feelings were true
And what lovers like us have to do

I looked at the time
And the time ran so fast
Like an arrow that flies to the heart
And I thought that a lifetime
Would not be enough time
To delight in this pleasure so dark

Lovers are mortal
Their hearts are the size of night clouds
Lovers are mortal
Their actions are jealous and proud
Lovers are losers
And who knows the bruises they bear
For lovers are mortal
As frail as the breath that they share

In the shadows of doorways
Where lovers are always
The victims of torches and chance
I would hold you so near
'til the scent of your hair
Sent me reeling my mind in a trance

Oh I still can recall
The soft music of rain falling
Silver and cool in the night
And it washed through our love
Like a river in flood
Like an ocean of tears shining bright

And I like to believe
That the memories we weave
Are the bittersweet echoes of dreams
In the evening their call strays
From yesterdays hallways
Like the faraway chimes on the breeze

Lovers are mortal
Their hearts are the size of night clouds
Lovers are mortal
Their actions are jealous and proud
Lovers are losers
And who knows the bruises they bear
For lovers are mortal
As frail as the breath that they share"

Be Bop Deluxe ~ Lovers are Mortal


With thanks to Robert (youoregon1) for his wonderful Abstract Thursday challenge - this week we have the challenge of combining mirrors and cemeteries. 

In case you are wondering, I've taken the principle cemetery shot, filtered it to get the sunset version (which was heavily saturated and HDR-ed) and I've then added three more layers of the same thing.  One of the layers was mono. The layers have been mirrored, moved about, and blended to create the effect you can see.  Finally, I've added the lover's skulls which I've lifted from a picture that I took about a year ago.

This challenge has give me the chance to wallow in the nostalgia of my late teenage years, and the fabulous Be Bop Deluxe song I've linked above.  The song was a love song, written by Bill Nelson about his relationship with Jan who was his Muse and the big love of his life at that time.  I've always found it very moving.

I can remember watching the  live concert that I have linked on the TV at the time that it was broadcast by the BBC.  You had to watch live back then, there was no such thing as catch up, and even video recorders were rare.  I don't remember it being quite as pixellated as the youtube version though!  At the time Be Bop Deluxe had become fairly unfashionable -  Punk and New Wave was where the cool bands lived - but I still loved them for all of that, as a sort of guilty pleasure.

Anyway, enough of my ramblings, I hope you enjoy this foray into the abstract.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.