An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Pretty in Pink...

Today has kind of taken me by surprise.  

Well not the day, I was expecting Wednesday after Tuesday, but the events. It's been much busier than expected.

Up early and organised for Tesco delivery, except I got into a conversation with Alan's Support Worker Anna, so the Tesco delivery arrived before I had managed to tidy the kitchen.  And he was later than I thought he would be  so I was still putting the fridge stuff away when Kirsty the dietician arrived for a catch up re. Alan's gastrostomy tube.

We are passed the crucial six week mark now so should the tube come out accidentally, we can put a new tube in and keep using it.  No need to be x-rayed.  That's a bit of a relief although I am hoping we won't have to face that situation again.

We had Natasha, a new Agency support worker here this afternoon to meet us and to shadow Alan's support worker Karen.  We plan to use Natasha to cover holidays and illness.  She is lovely and Alan seems to have taken to her straight away.  I spent some time chatting to her, giving her some information about Alan and answering her questions before she went out for a couple of hours with Alan and Karen.

Natasha's line manager Marie called to see if she could pop in to have a quick chat with me and catch up with Natasha so that took up a chunk of time late afternoon.  Meanwhile there were about 14 builders banging, hammering, sawing, mixing, brushing etc etc.   One of them stayed on till 7pm working on the roof.  I expect he wanted to make the most of the dry day.

David got home from work just as Natasha was leaving so at least he got to meet her.  This evening has been spent reading the training protocols for the support staff in connection with Alan's gastrostomy to make sure all angles have been covered.  Great fun.

Really tired now so planning to have my head hitting my pillow by 11pm.  Oh and didn't manage to see GBBO so I will have to catch up with it tomorrow.

It's all go! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.