New Toy

I mentioned yesterday that I bought a new glass birdbath. I installed it this afternoon and put some peanuts in the water to attract the jays. It took awhile for them to be bold enough to check it out. Soon they were all retrieving peanuts from the water. I think they like the new toy.

Arvin didn't go to group today. We spent the morning together and then went to his doctor appointment. Dr. M's suggestion was to get a walker for Arvin. Arv doesn't think he needs one but tonight I am pretty sure he does. One big problem is that our house is not set up for walkers, or wheelchairs if it should come to that. The living room is sunken so you step down into it. The entry is down a set of stairs and the basement is downstairs even lower. If Arvin accidentally drove the walker too close to the stairs it could be a disaster. We didn't buy one today because our insurance company has an exclusive contract with a particular dealer and that is not where we went today to get one. So tomorrow.

Tonight Arv was really unstable on his feet again. I decided it would be wise to help him get ready for bed early. So he went at 8:30 and I am still up at 11:00 doing my blip. I have to admit I am really worried. If Arvin can't go to his groups anymore, it will be a real problem for us both. And if he gets any less stable, I know I won't be able to care for him. I really want to have him adjust to Silverado and eventually to move there. But I heard today that they won't be opening as early as I thought. I just hope I can hold out and move him there gracefully. I know I won't be able to care for him if there is a lot of lifting and carrying. My next step if he can no longer go to groups is to find somebody who can come here and stay with him while I got out, for sure on Wednesday, and hopefully other days too. Yikes.

I went to my eye doctor who is in the same building as Arvin's family physician. He agreed that I need a Yag Capsulotomy in my right eye, so I scheduled it for September. They are pretty easy peasy and do help a lot. (I already had one on my left eye.) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.