Crows and Ravens

I spent most of the day at my new house. Two fellows were there working on the engineered wood floors in the two bedrooms. I brought a load of things with me and after I unloaded I started working on where to hang art. 

While I worked I occasionally talked to the fellows. Today the older brother was here with another fellow. They were young, worked very hard, mostly talked about the job they were doing, helped each other, and treated me with respect and friendliness. They had the saw set up outside the front door so the noise and flying sawdust stayed outside. And they did not have a radio on playing loud rock and roll music. All of that said "professional" and "respect" to me. And I could see they knew what they were doing and the floors looked fantastic when they were finished. I would definitely recommend Fairhaven Floors to any Hamsters (people who live in Bellingham) who might want to have new floors installed.

The photo is of course of one of the deck birds at my old house. This crow managed to fly in a direction that allowed me to get a good shot of his or her wingspread. So often the crows take off in a downward arc and all I get is a slimline view of their backs as they fly off. The crows are more circumspect than the jays. They are cautious and consider awhile before venturing to the peanut trays when I am on the deck. But occasionally they do come and when they do, the jays hang back. The crows are much bigger.

I called today's blip "Crows and Ravens" because that describes one wall of art in my new condo. Again I forgot to take pictures today after I finished hanging pictures. I will take photos when the furniture is there and you'll see the wall in the dining area then. It has several art pieces, all of which feature crows or ravens. I guess in a way it is a memorial to Arvin whose totem is the raven and who loved those birds. One of the pieces is the etching by Yvonne Davis called Mine, All Mine that I bought after Arvin died because that raven reminded me so much of him.

When I got home to my old house I was really hungry and tired. I hadn't eaten since breakfast and it was 4:00 in the afternoon. So I made a salad and then spent some time on the deck taking photos including this one. After that I sat on the living room couch and fell into a deep sleep that lasted for two hours. I woke up bright eyed and bushy tailed again and had a lovely long conversation on the phone with my friend Carroll.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.