Grab Shot

The move is getting closer and closer and I am running faster and faster to try to catch the wave. Or that is what it feels like. I got my hair done this morning after dropping off the kitties at the vet's for a five day vacation.

When Miki was finished making my hair beautiful, I took off for Helena's to give her a lovely spice cabinet that didn't fit in my new place. It has a stained glass piece I made in the door and the box was built by a good friend who worked at IBM with me. He made two boxes and I made two stained glass pieces for their doors. I am delighted Helena is taking mine because it stays in the family.

The two of us drove to the old house. We stopped for coffee, peanut butter, mocha milk shakes for lunch and then continued on home. While I did packing of kitchen stuff, Helena folded cardboard for recycling and threw away trash in the garage. Around 3:00 we were both ready for a break so we took off for the new house to unload.

l unpacked and Helena hung out with me and then took some quiet time reading the many newspapers I had saved for her. I subscribe. We both read the papers.

Just before 4:00 I finally opened the doors to the two bedrooms. It had been 24 hours since the fellows wedged the boundary pieces in place and it was safe to walk into the rooms. I meant to take a photo but was too busy to think of it. The floors loolk fantastic. I'm so glad I had them changed from carpeting to wood.

I did some more work and then H and I headed off for dinner at a Chinese buffet. As always we both ate more than we needed to. After dinner I took H home and then headed home myself where I did more packing. Like I said, I'm feeling a bit of pressure to get things done. The movers come tomorrow to pack some things I didn't want to do myself and Monday they load the truck and take the big stuff to my new house.

One thing I am a bit annoyed at myself for is that I left the keys to my grandfather clock at the condo, so the movers can't pack it tomorrow. So they will have to do that on Monday. When they finish their packing today, I will be driving a load over from the packing I did myself this evening. As usual lately, it's been a long day. And a good one. The new place is really shaping up nicely. As my friend Carroll said yesteray, I am "currating" my house. I liked that thought. My house, the Chaikin art museum. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.