Screen on the Green

Newcastle were playing at home again today but it was a 5.30pm kick off so I had time to do some household chores and also to nip down to the shops in the village.  Had an early tea of salmon and salad and went out around 4pm to get the bus to Newcastle.

As I was making my way to the football ground I passed by Eldon Square where a big screen has been set up showing free films throughout the school holidays.  During the Olympics instead of films they showed action from the Games. Today's films were two oldies - " Some Like It Hot and " Young Frankenstein ".

As I passed by " Young Frankenstein "  was showing.  I watched for a few mins and it seemed hilarious.  Its not a film I had even heard of so I " Googled " when I got home.  Its a 1974 American Horror Comedy directed by Mel Brooks starring Gene Wilder and Marty Feldman.  A parody of the classic horror film genre - filmed in black and white - a rarity in the 1970's.  It was a Box Office smash hit and is ranked 13th on the American Film Institutes list of the 100 funniest American movies.  I might just have to try and watch it sometime.

When I looked at my shots on the computer I realised I had photographed the young couple in the front of my shot a few times.  The scenario goes like this:~

Top right photo - both standing watching the film
Bottom right - they have turned around - he wants to leave - she doesn't and pulls a sad face.
Bottom left - he takes her arm and leads her away. ( I think he wants to go to the pub )

Well that's my interpretation anyway.

So I had to leave also  - to to go to the match.  Newcastle were playing Brighton.  The Magpies versus The Seagulls. The general consensus was that Brighton would be tough to beat.  They were almost promoted to the Premiership last season. But Newcastle won  - the score was  2 - 0.  The second goal was wonderful to see - a free kick by Jonjo Shelvey that whammed into the back of the net.  Newcastle fans are on a high at the moment as the team are finally starting to win games. They are now 4th in the table.  My extra shot shows a banner towed by a small plane which came over the ground during the match. Maybe it brought Good Luck.

PS ----- The largest attendance in English football today was at St. James' Park (49,196)

Steps today - 10,042

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.