DERELICT SUNDAY 45

The photo shows a painting of Marjolein Juray. An artist I met in a philosophy class in Amsterdam back in the seventies.
The class was given by Prof. Otto Duintjer, an inspiring teacher.
I felt fascinated by the appearance of Marjolein, to me she looked like a russian princess (the fairy tale land kind) and I was happy that after some time we became friends.
In the eighties I was able to buy two wonderful paintings created by her.
But one day we got a telephone call from her. Her house was burnt down. After festivities a young man had placed his motor against the wooden wall of her house and had set it to fire.
Luckily for my friend, a neighbour happened to come back from a late performance and could alarm her. Somehow she had wanted to save some of her paintings and her documentation but to no avail. Her hands had burnt severely, but she lived!
Many friends have helped her after that terrible event, but it took a long time before she had gained confidence in life again.
She painted big canvasses filled with apples, all upon the darkest background. The painting that I have from her is a small one. I could not imagine buying a painting as big as the ones that I already owned.
She build a new home, a marvellous one, but I felt terrified about it, as it was again a wooden one.
Years later in 2001 she died quite suddenly. Her spirit is still around us in her paintings.

I am hosting for the last Sunday in August the Derelict Sunday Challenge. And I choose this little painting for my own contribution.
The tag is DS45, or DerelictSunday45.
Thank you in advance for joining.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.