Sliding!

We've had a lovely family day today. We met my mum and dad, Mr B, Mrs L and the cousins at The Bell in Winslow and ate our body weight in roast beef, gammon, turkey, giant Yorkshire puddings, roast potatoes and parsnips, leek bake, parsnip mash, peas, carrots and gravy.
With prawn cocktail to start and rhubarb crumble afterwards.
Oh my goodness it was a lot of food!!
There's something about a carvery - just a little bit of everything turns into an enormous, piled up, overflowing plate!!
Or is that just me?!!
From there we drove home, left Mr K to his dissertation (twenty thousand words due by Friday and left too late........) and walked up to the village fete. I had been hoping for a plant stall and a bric-a-brac stall but there was only a tombola. I used to always win at the tombola but lately my luck seems to have deserted me! The Little Misses won some tat at the junior tombola but nothing for me!
They spent their money at the coconut shy (Miss E was apparently the first child of the day to actually hit a coconut so the man let her have it!) and at the splat-a-rat.
I had to laugh when I asked Miss E if she wanted to go on the bouncy slide. 
Five goes for a pound?! she exclaimed looking disgusted. No! 
She clearly didn't think it represented good value for money!!
Papa kindly offered to pay for them to have a go and they leapt at it. They're happy to waste other people's money!!!
We didn't stay long. We were too full to eat cake and there wasn't much else for grown ups to spend their money on. Apart from the stupid tombola!!
Home for a cup of tea, discussions about paint and an evening of dissertation writing (Mr K) and X-Factor watching (me!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.