Miss Golden Boot

It was Mr W's sixth birthday party this morning at Power League football in Milton Keynes. When Mrs A invited Miss L she did point out that she'd be the only girl. Miss L wasn't bothered and wanted to go.
Wanted to go until this morning ten minutes before we were due to leave! Then we had tears and despair at being the only girl and lots of wailing that she didn't want to go.
I told her she had to but that she could sit with me if she wanted to rather than joining in the football.
As usual we were running a little late and the SatNav unhelpfully decided we had reached our destination nowhere near our destination so I had to pull over and Google it but we got there eventually.
Miss L initially stuck to me like glue, looking as if she was about to made to walk the plank, but she queued up with the boys and headed out without complaint. And, just like last time, she loved it!! Every time I looked out I saw her running about, kicking theatrically, hanging off the net, waving her arms about and generally having a fabulous time!!
I washed her hair this morning so it was a little fly-away (and about two inches longer than normal. It gets shorter as it gets dirtier through the week!!). She didn't want it tied back preferring to toss her hair as much as possible as she played!! It was hilarious!
I was so proud of her joining in so well and throwing herself into it. I was even more proud when she was awarded the Golden Boot by the coaches. She got a certificate and looked so chuffed with herself. Fabulous!!!
I was like one of those mums you read funny posts about on Facebook this morning! I went to wrap Mr W's present - Stormtrooper lego figure which made Mr K's eyes glaze over longingly when he saw it!! - and Miss L noticed the recommended age 7-12 on the box. Mr W's not seven she piped up. Well he is now, I said, he's the youngest in the year.
But he's not seven
Pause.
Are you six or seven?
I'm six
Ah.
Then I went to wrap the present and discovered there is no sellotape in the house.
It was either duct tape or glue dots which I found buried at the bottom of Miss L's craft drawer.
The glue dots were surprisingly successful! Hopefully it didn't all spring open before Mr W got to it!!
Then I looked in the card pile to discover I only had girl's cards.
Oh my God.
Never mind back-to-school preparation I need to sort out my party-preparation!!
It was lovely to see Mrs A again. We're doing a Pretty Muddy run walk in a couple of weeks for Cancer Research and it was reassuring to confirm that a) she's done no training either and b) she is more than happy to walk round the course and just have a laugh and enjoy it.
What a relief!!

Facebook friends can you please have a look at my JustGiving page and sponsor me. Just a few quid will make all the difference. Thank you!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.