WIDE ANGLE WEDNESDAY - SNODSHILL ROUNDABOUT

It’s another dull and grey day today and this photograph is not that good, but the conversation that I had whilst walking back from taking it is worth noting.

All roundabouts near us are named and this one is called “Snodshill”.  It doesn’t sound that good, but our Estate was built on land that comprised Upper and Lower Snodshill Farm.

Many years ago, I worked for a Chartered Surveyor in the town and his brother knew I lived on this estate, so gave me a photograph of Upper Snodshill Farm, where his grandparents used to live.

This morning, when I was walking back home, a neighbour asked “You taking photographs?” in a rather incredulous way, because of course, the sky was grey and it was really dull.  I explained to him about Blip and said that I took a photograph every day and had done so for the last 1,300+ days without missing a day and that I also wrote a journal.  We then got chatting;  I hadn’t really spoken to him much before this, as he lives round the corner, in another cul de sac, so we don’t see much of those neighbours. 

He asked if I knew the origin of the roundabout’s name and I said I did, because I used to work for a Chartered Surveyor whose grandparents lived at Snodshill Farm - he was amazed and said that he was related to the people named Freeman who owned the farm, and he had a picture of it.  He went indoors and brought out the photograph then it was my turn to be incredulous because I said I had exactly the same photograph, but slightly larger.  (I did come home and look for the photograph, but as I have been decluttering, couldn’t put my hand on it immediately, but I will keep looking!)

We chatted for quite a while and discovered that he knew several people we also knew - so although as I said earlier, this photograph is not that good, it will remind me, in the future, of the interesting conversation I had with Mr. Freeman.

Today’s moments are
     tomorrow’s memories.
Sushan Sharma

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.