ABSTRACT THURSDAY

Abstract : relating to or denoting art that does not attempt to represent external reality, but rather seeks to achieve its effect using shapes, colours, and textures.

I decided when I got up that it would be a “Pink Robe morning” - so went downstairs to get my first cup of coffee.  Mr. HCB came down just after me - having been up since about 6.30, and asked if I had seen the BIG spider on the stairs.  I thought he was teasing me, so asked when he caught it in a glass we keep especially for this sort of thing, to let me see it.

He was right, it was quite large - and I thought Sidney the Spider, assuming it’s a male, might like his 15 minutes of fame and decided to use it as my Blip for Abstract Thursday, so I played about with the shot in my TangledFX app and liked the result.

It certainly has shape, colour and texture and the only way this will represent external reality is if Mr. HCB decides to let it out of the glass indoors, by which time I will be long gone!  

I wouldn’t say I was an arachnophobe, but I’m not too keen on large spiders scurrying about and I was brave enough to video it for my friend’s little boy, but it was still inside the glass.

Thank you for all your kind comments, stars and hearts for Henry the Hedgehog - our neighbour, Lynn, duly fed and watered him last night, so he is being well looked after.

The next time you see a spider web, 
     pause and look a little closer. 
You'll be seeing one of the most 
     high-performance materials 
          known to man. 
Cheryl Hayashi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.