FLOWER FRIDAY - PHOTOBOMBED BY A SPIDER

I decided to have a wander round the garden before I go out later and you will be surprised to know that I was dressed (for those reading my Blip for the first time, I don’t usually wander around the garden naked, but I often do so wearing my pink robe!)

I got a few shots for Flower Friday and then decided, as I had plenty of time, to take the advice of fellow Blipper, Green56, and get out the tripod together with my remote cable release - it is a bit of a faff because the raised beds are quite close together, so I had to fiddle about to get the legs of the tripod just right but I was up for it, and wanted to use my Canon 200D.  

I’m sure there are other Blippers out there who talk to the plants and perhaps even to various insects when they are taking photographs - today, I apologised to this spider for moving its web, but you can still see some strands of it.  

I moved on to take a photograph of the lovely plant that Green56 gave to us when she visited a few weeks ago (see extra) but this Rudbeckia “GoldSturm” caught my eye, especially when the spider came out to have a look and probably wondered what this strange woman was doing.  

I believe this spider is an orb weaver, which is quite common in the UK.  Of course, I Googled it, and found out that "they can grow up to 13mm and can be found in hedgerows, woodland and gardens across Britain from June to October. They eat flying insects caught in their orb-shaped webs and are sometimes called ‘cross orb-weavers’ due to the distinctive cross marking on their body. The spider is often brown but can also be bright orange or yellow. Egg sacs are laid on branches, garden fences and garden sheds in the autumn with spiderlings hatching in the spring."  

I think this one was more than a little put out to think that I had disturbed it and ruined a night’s work.  I took lots of shots and was reasonably happy with them - I obviously need more practice, but realised I couldn’t spend all morning just taking shots of flowers.

Now I have taken the plunge and used the tripod, I have decided I need to make more of an effort to do this - so thank you, Green56, for your encouragement and advice.  

“It takes a great man (or woman)
     to give sound advice tactfully, 
          but a greater to accept it graciously.”
Logan P. Smith

P.S.  I wasn't looking for pareidolia today, but I think I can see a face on the spider!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.