ABSTRACT THURSDAY - I'M ON A ROLL!

After yesterday, I wasn’t particularly looking for any pareidolia, but it found me in The Food Gallery at Marlborough!

As Mr. HCB was at cricket again, I decided that I would take a trip on the bus earlier this morning to Marlborough and my first port of call was The Food Gallery, my favourite little independent café, near St. Peter’s Church.  Of course, one of the reasons I love going there is that the jokes, written by Bob, on the board outside are wonderful and appeal to my sense of humour.  Bob has now retired and handed over the reins to his son, Richard and daughter, Kat, and they both do a wonderful job - but I'm not sure if their jokes are up to his standard, which is perhaps why Bob still writes them!

I had my usual cappuccino with some toast - and believe me, once you have had toast in The Food Gallery, you will NEVER want to eat that thin, tasteless, mass-produced stuff you get in most other cafés.  

Today’s toast was white - and before you start telling me that brown is best, I happen to really like white toast.  It was hand-cut off a lovely large loaf and I was asked what I wanted with it.  I immediately said butter and honey and when it arrived, there was lashings of butter and a little jug of honey;  it’s also the only place I know that serves toast in a toast rack and where you get real chocolate on top of your cappuccino!

Now that may not bother you, but once hot toast has been on a cold plate, it sweats and goes soggy, especially when it is from a thin-sliced loaf - but not The Food Gallery toast.  It stays crisp on the outside and soft on the inside - if you don’t believe me, just have a look at my extra photograph, and if you do go in there for coffee and toast, tell them that Maureen sent you!!

Now for the abstract for today’s theme - I took a photograph of the top of my cappuccino and thought I could see a face - enter pareidolia again - and as I faffed around a little with my Tangled FX app, there it was, so I hope you can all see it.  

I wandered around for a while, chatting to a few people on the way - well you know me - and even bought another Christmas present in St. Peter's Church, where they have many craft items for sale - somewhere else worth visiting in Marlborough!  After a wander around Waitrose, where I treated myself to a little pot of chocolate ganache, I got home just in time, before the rain started, so I hope that Mr. HCB and Keith are enjoying the cricket match down in Bristol.  According to my Weather app, there is light cloud and a moderate breeze there, so they should still be playing - perhaps I should eat the ganache before he gets home and dispose of the evidence!

Here is Bob’s joke for today and I love it:

“How do you console 
     someone who loves grammar 
          and is poorly?
Hug them and say,
     ‘there,
          their,
               they’re’!”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.