CAN YOU SEE THE FACE - OR IS IT JUST ME?

I was feeling rather tired this morning - in fact, I didn’t even see Mr. HCB go off to cricket because I was still asleep. I guess it’s to be expected as I stood for almost three hours yesterday afternoon chopping vegetables to make more chutney and then it was almost midnight before I was actually able to put it into jars. I think it’s fair to say I’m now “chutnied out”!! 

I took my time getting up then decided to go for a wander to John Lewis, so caught the bus to the other side of the town, taking lots of photographs on the way.  Several people stopped and spoke, several asking me why I was taking photographs, so once again I told them about Blip. 

When I got near John Lewis, I decided to explore an area on the other side of the road and I was glad I did. As I walked along a beautiful tree-lined path, I suddenly shouted “Yes!”  Anyone following me would have thought I had taken leave of my senses, but Lsquare will know exactly what I was thinking when she sees this tree because she is the "Blip Queen of Pareidolia" but I think I am catching her up fast!  

I carried on walking and thought that I must come back down this way with Mr. HCB sometime - in fact if we caught a bus down, we could walk nearly all the way home - probably about 15,000 steps!  

When I walked back to where I had seen the tree, it seemed to be darker and the tree looked more menacing - in fact, it looked to me like a "one-eyed wolf"!  A lady walked past and no doubt wondered what I was doing taking a photograph of a tree - knowing me, I probably would have asked!  What saddened me was the amount of rubbish that had been thrown underneath the trees - but I won’t have a rant about that - I just wonder why people can’t just take their rubbish home?

Once in John Lewis, I had my free coffee and cake and saw a lady I used to work with about 30 years ago, and who is now working in the café at John Lewis. I have seen her since, but the last time was about 18 months ago, when I saw her in M & S having a coffee with a friend.  She said that she had never forgotten that I had given her a bunch of daffodils - something I tend to do in the spring - buy daffodils and just give them to random people.  She said she had been very touched by that, so today, I gave her one of my little hearts, and her comment was "Thank you so much - I shall keep that."  

We had a quick catch-up chat and reminisced about when we had worked together - I remember when she left work to have her first baby, and that “baby” is now 30 years old and her other one is 28 years old.  Where do the years go?  I must say that I was very impressed by the way she greeted those either coming into the café or leaving - she was very welcoming, so I think I feel an email coming on, just to let her boss know how good she is!

So, from feeling tired, to having a good long walk, getting a pareidolia Blip and then meeting up with someone I hadn't seen for a while, it's been a good day.  I am now going to sit out in the garden and enjoy the sunshine - Mr. HCB won't be home for sometime, so I might even have a little nod!

According to the English Oxford Living Dictionary, 
Pareidolia is:
     the perception of 
          apparently significant patterns 
               or recognisable images, 
                    especially faces, 
                         in random or 
                              accidental arrangements 
                                   of shapes and lines.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.