ABSTRACT THURSDAY

I popped over to Waitrose this morning to do some grocery shopping - having a voucher that entitled me to £8 off if I spent £40 was somewhat of a draw to go there.  It didn't take long to spend that amount and yes, I did stop for a coffee and a quick read!

I was keeping an eye open for something abstract and when I came out, I realised there was probably something on the footbridge that arches the Wilts & Berks Canal at a skewed angle just across from the Waitrose store and leading over to the Hall & Woodhouse pub, where we had a Blipmeet a couple of weeks ago and sure enough, there was.

The footbridge, which will be a pedestrian link for the Canal development at Wichelstowe, is 35 metres long, weighs 28 tonnes and was designed by artist Sebastien Boysen.  It features ornate, laser cut steel panels showing the wildlife and flora of the area and is filled with coloured resin, designed to catch the sunlight during the day and at night I understand it is illuminated by feature lights set within the handrails - might be worth going over there one crisp Autumn evening! 

It is a wonderful piece of engineering and is not only functional, but also beautiful and I rather liked the wooden seat halfway across that added to the abstract feel.

Thank you, once again, for all your kind comments for yesterday’s Blip - I’m still going over to Mum’s regularly, so don’t have much time left - Mr. HCB does expect to be fed occasionally! 

“Bridges become frames 
     for looking at the world around us.”
Bruce Jackson

P.S.  If anyone is interested in listening to the Podcast of the Girls About Town programme, aired yesterday, you can hear it by clicking on this link and looking for 4th September.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.