SILLY SATURDAY IN HONOUR OF ADMIRER

Hello Lovely Blippers,

Sammy Snail here - remember me?  I was the Team Leader and Coach for the Snail Team in the Alternative Olympic Games a couple of weeks ago.  Didn’t we all have a great time at the AOG?  I really enjoyed it and I’m sure that all my friends did too.  In fact, it’s been quite dull at home compared to what it was like in the changing rooms and on the track for the various events in the Games and of course, Mrs. HCB did lots of interviews with me and the rest of the Team, which we all really enjoyed.

Mind you, along with some of my relatives and friends, Shaun, Sebastian, Sterling, Susanna, Stuart, Sergio and Solomon, I have been chomping through the last of the lettuce in Mr. HCB’s garden and very nice it was too - very sweet and tender, but now that September has come, the stalks are getting a bit thick and sometimes they taste rather bitter, so we moved on to the flower garden.  I must say that the lupin leaves are particularly tasty and we like some of those tall heleniums - did you know that when you get to the top of those, there is a good view?

However, the very best view - and now that the HCBs have had a high fence put up around their garden, it’s getting harder to see over the top - is from the top of one of Mr. HCB’s special sunflowers.  A few weeks ago it was a little over 9 feet tall, but now it’s up to well over 10 feet - of course, I had to go and have a look and I managed to slither right up to the top.  What a view and from up there and everything on the ground looks so small.  The day I decided to do it, though, it was rather windy and I had to be very careful.

I see that the HCBs have been clearing out a large border at the back of their garden, so we will have to find somewhere to spend the winter months but in a garden of their size, that shouldn’t be too difficult.  I just hope that they will leave us alone when we huddle together, but it won’t be so easy to find little nooks and crannies now that they have a new fence.  However, there are still a few weeks to go before we need to go into our snail huddle, so we will be training hard every day - it’s hard work slithering up and down bamboo canes and very tall plants.

I’ve been getting a bit short-sighted lately and was a bit concerned when I saw what I thought was a friend of mine who had had too much plastic surgery - but then I realised it was a Magic Tape holder - just shows I should have gone to that famous opticians and had my specs changed or perhaps I should have gone to Leightons, where Mr. and Mrs. HCB go, because they always speak highly of the staff there.

Hope you all have a great weekend and if you have any luscious lupins, heavenly heleniums or even some succulent sunflowers, do let me know and I will arrange for Mrs. HCB to send me over to yours for a little holiday!

This September Silly Saturday is in honour of Admirer, who started all this, and I hope this makes her  giggle today.  All the best to everyone, keep well and stay safe.

Sammy Snail and relatives

P.S.  Just remember this - if you believe you can do something, you CAN, no matter how long it takes! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.