DERELICT SUNDAY - CAN YOU SEE THE LIKENESS?

For some unknown reason Mr HCB was in a bit of an odd mood yesterday afternoon, which is most unlike him!

We had been out to visit some friends to have afternoon tea and when we got home he said to me, “I don’t think we’ll go out tomorrow.”  I asked him why and he said he just felt like having a day at home so I told him that was fine.

However, I decided that I would get up early this morning and go out to find some dereliction – in fact I knew where there was some in the Old Town area of Swindon, so that was where I headed. I took my photographs, feeling pleased with what I had, and was home before 8.30 just in time for breakfast. 

We watched the church service from Birmingham Vineyard Church, following which, Mr. HCB changed his mind and said we would go out for a drive because the weather was so good and it would be a shame not to - so we had a quick bite to eat and off we went. 

If we had a favourite drive, this would be it - along the Aldbourne road, and turn left up to Eastridge, along a single track road - the place we went when Mr. HCB first had his hearing aids, and where we listened to the birds singing and he could actually hear them for the first time for many years!  

I already had my blip for today or so I thought, which I will save and go back to photograph another day, but then, we stopped the car to look out over the valley and then decided to wander along the road, when I found this derelict tree. 

I know that I blipped a tree for derelict Sunday last week but I make no excuses for blipping another one because this one is especially for my dear Blip friend LSquare, who is presently in hospital. She is the “Queen of Pareidolia”, so this shot is dedicated to her. In fact Mr HCB who is not terribly good at seeing pareidolia in anything walked along as I was taking the shop and his first comment was, "Oh, that looks just like Jemima Puddle-Duck!"

For those who don’t know, Helen Beatrix Potter (28 July 1866 – 22 December 1943) was an English writer, illustrator, natural scientist and conservationist; she was best known for her children's books featuring animals, such as The Tale of Peter Rabbit, The Tale of Squirrel Nutkin, The Tailor of Gloucester and The Tale of Jemima Puddle-Duck and many more.  You can even listen to one of the tales about Jemima here.

So you have another tree that looks like Jemima Puddle-Duck, for derelict Sunday especially for LSquare and I am sending this with my love and very best wishes for a speedy recovery.  

“If I have done anything, even a little, 
     to help small children enjoy honest, 
          simple pleasures, 
               I have done a bit of good.” 
Beatrix Potter

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.