BACK TO "GIRLS ABOUT TOWN"

Because Mum was so poorly last week, I felt it was right not to be involved in the "Girls About Town" radio programme, but now the Care Package is in place, I thought it would be fine to go into the studio today as it is literally just over the road.  I called in to see Mum before I went, and was a little concerned, but as she seemed to be sleeping peacefully, I decided to go.

When I got there, I had a big hug from Jo, who said that she had bought me some flowers, which are in the bottom photograph of my collage, because she knew I was going through a difficult time at the moment - so kind of her - and I shall enjoy these on my kitchen windowsill.

We had a lovely lady as our guest today, called Lis McDermott - seen in between Jo and me - who, in her career, in Jo’s words, "Has had a multiplicity of roles" - as a music teacher, a photographer, an Ofsted inspector and now a writer of several books.  These include “Mixed Feelings”, about how she and her husband got together, another giving tips about taking good photographs to promote your business entitled “Head Shot Diva”,  “Changing Lives”, a book of short stories and also “A Tilted View”, a collection of her poems.  

Lis was a very interesting lady and we had great fun in the studio because, of course,  our theme tune is "Girls Just Wanna Have Fun!" After the programme, Jo and I both bought a copy of “Mixed Feelings”, which I am sure we will enjoy reading.  If you want to see the books Lis has written, have a look here..

Lis also gave me the website address of her publisher, so when I have a spare moment (!) I will have a look to see if he would publish some of my poems or indeed, if they are worth publishing.  Watch this space.

When I went back to Mum’s after the programme, she was still asleep, but I decided to stay to see if she woke up - but it was almost two hours before she did.  Karen, my sister, rang the doctor this afternoon, at Mum’s request, so he has stopped several of her tablets and her antibiotics, so hopefully, she will feel better and less tired tomorrow.  The hospital bed was well received - I wasn’t there when it was delivered yesterday, and I gather there were some shenanigans but they managed eventually and Mum seems to like it, which is the main thing.  I will pop over again this evening to make sure she is feeling better and settle her down for the night as Karen is working.

Thank you for all your kind comments and good wishes for me and my Mum - I apologise that most of my Blips seem to be about her and what’s happening at the moment - but that’s how things are in my life at the moment.

“I am going to keep having fun 
     every day I have left, 
          because there is no other way of life. 
You just have to decide whether 
     you are a Tigger 
          or an Eeyore.” 
Randy Pausch

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.