Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Mighty Santa Cruz

Several years ago, then Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords somehow got whatever branch of the government that handles such things, to keep the Santa Cruz River on the list of navigable US waterways.  I thought it was hysterical at the time because I had only ever seen the river look like this - not a place you could even get your feet damp.

Yesterday, we had about 2 inches (5 cm) of steady rain.  During the monsoon, it's the river, washes and arroyos which carry away the water.  Most areas/roads don't have storm drains.
I stopped to take these photos from the interstate over pass at the San Xavier District of the Tohono O’odham Nation Reservation on my way home from Tucson. I took a short video of the river, too,  because I was amazed at how fast the water was rushing.

The blip I linked to was taken in Green Valley not far from the pecan orchards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.