Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Pipevine Swallowtail

I know, it's a bit far away and I could have cropped it more closely.  On the other hand, it already looks weird because of the location of the flower so I felt as if I needed to keep more of that in the photo. The butterfly is barely above the wall.

I've never photographed a butterfly before.  After searching for a while, I think I came up with the correct species.  This butterfly is fairly common from the east coast to the southwest, but at different times of the year. Late summer and early fall is southern arizona's time of year.

The plant is the Mexican Bird of Paradise.  It's growing (having apparently been seeded by the wind) on the back side of my wall.  Not only do they attract butterflies but also hummingbirds.  I can't plant one in my yard because I don't have the space.  They get enormous. Hopefully, next season it will have grown above the wall more giving me plenty of new opportunities for blips during year eight.  

Gotta love nature.

Thinking good thoughts for all of my friends, relatives and blip friends in Florida this weekend.  Do whatever is necessary to stay safe.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.