Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The start of rugby season

It was a busy morning - I was up at 4.45am to make sure Adam was ready for the taxi pickup to Gatwick as he has gone to Hintertux in Austria for a week of ski straining with the Cambridge University squad (they are skiing on a glacier as it is obviously still late summer/early autumn). I did not go back to sleep and then not long afterwards both Gavin and Luke arrived home from their travels. Luke had a memorable work experience in Ethiopia and came home having learnt so much about their business and Ethiopia in general. He showed me all his photos - it is one of the least developed African countries - cattle on the motorway and goats roaming the streets of Addis Ababa. But a land of opportunity for investors.  

It rained all day at home but luckily Thomas' first rugby match of the season was quite far from home and it was there it was dry with no rain. He is playing in the U16B team and they played against the opposition U16A team, who have two Saracens players. Despite that Thomas' team won 24-21! I asked Luke to come watch the match and Thomas played very well, as he always tries harder when Luke is watching. I forgot to set my camera on continuous focus but nevertheless I got some images I was pleased with. I loved this one, of Thomas' friend powering through the line with such concentration on his face. I have added an extra of Thomas quickly passing the ball out after he has been tackled.

A quiet and probably early night for all of us tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.