Abbey Gardens

Another quiet day!!
I drove down to Suffolk gently, enjoying the radio and the countryside as I was in no hurry.  I was hoping to pick up my mother from hospital where she has been for 6 weeks! A slight doubt was raised yesterday about some level of something in her blood but all was well - and she was allowed out! Mum was delighted and very eager to get back into her own environment.

I am not surprised our health service is in crisis observing all that has been going on with my mother - in essence, not a lot.  After 6 weeks she has had nothing done and is no different from when she went in, except a little less mobile due to total inactivity in that time!

I am staying overnight in Bury St Edmunds so between seeing my mother and sorting out meals for her, I came along to my hotel in the centre and then went for a walk in the Abbey Gardens.  Bury St Edmunds has a very old tower (Norman so 11th century) and alongside this has been built a cathedral - not especially old but in keeping with the area. In the grounds of the Tower and Cathedral are the ruins of the original abbey.  Now not much more than lumps of rock, the layout of the abbey is clear and well labelled.

Tomorrow morning I will call back to see my mother and sort out a few other arrangements before heading home in the afternoon.

My blip shows the silhouetting of the Cathedral and ruins against the setting sun

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.