But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

A Penny for Them.

This week’s MonoMonday challenge is hosted by Ingeborg with the theme “Traditional.” This Victorian penny is what I, and any Briton over sixty years of age, will think of as the traditional currency of the realm, what has become euphemistically known as “real money.” In  my early childhood, coins of this vintage were still in moderately common use, even including the silver thrupenny bit, and valued because of their age. Unfortunately, as they were still legal tender, they could – and were – used at the local sweet shops; a trade that did irreparable damage to my teeth.
 
I suspect this sample is one from Herself’s collection and is dated 1899, just a year or two before the old lady died.
 
I’ve just posted Friday’s, “Glenlivet Packhorse Bridge.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.