Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Tuck Attack

It's an interesting way to approach a feeder but this gal decided it was the best way.  I love to see tail feathers splayed, especially when they capture the light.  I thought the mirror image was kinda cool, too. 

The bird is dark because the early morning sun has back lit it.  That's the problem I have with shooting early in the day...my backyard faces east.  I only have a short window of "perfect light" for getting good shots of hummingbirds.  Unfortunately, depending upon the time of year, it's between 1-3 pm, when they are less likely to be around in any significant numbers.  Hummingbirds are generally out early in the morning after coming out of their daily torpor and in the evening, bulking up on energy to help them survive the night.

I saw a couple of Broad-billed hummers which have come down from the mountains but didn't get any shots of them.  I'm still waiting to see a Rufous, and praying that the rare Lucifer which visited me last year will return.  I haven't been as vigilant a spectator as I have been in the past. It seemed last September was a little cooler by now and I was able to sit out in the shade during the afternoon hours.  But it's up to about 100°/38° again after a short respite.

Today is my fourth anniversary with Zippy.  Happy day, sweetie!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.