Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

ZIPPY!

Maybe it should have said Happy Anniversary, but for me, today was the day of his birth. Five years ago, this little Costa's hummingbird flew into my life.  It was two days after I hung my first hummingbird feeder.  I was wondering if any  of the little creatures would ever find it.  It was then that I saw this hummer come in for a quick sip.  No fluttering, just a straight line in and a straight line out.  I said to myself, as I often do, "Wow, that hummingbird was really zipping!"  I didn't think there could be any more appropriate name than 'Zippy.'

He immediately claimed my backyard as his territory and remains annoyingly protective. He's got his favorite perches where he keeps an eye out for possible intruders. I would really like him to share the luscious nectar. Others sneak in when he's not around.  

Zippy has stayed with me year-round, through extreme heat and sub-freezing temperatures.  Average lifespan for a Costa's is five years. May he defy the averages and live a long life. I love the little guy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.