1940's on The Poppy Line, Sheringham and Holt

It has been a long busy day. Didn't get up until 9, and after the usual jobs, I was ready for the day (make up, hair and dress) by 11! My extra photo's give an idea of how we looked and the things we saw! I managed to get Jon to wear the RAF uniform which he has only worn once for the event before, back in 2008! Lucky to have the choice, as I only have the same dress I always wear - and I only just squeezed into it!

Couldn't persuade Henry to join us, in costume or otherwise, so just two of us this year as I had predicted. We parked at Sheringham, leaving all modern day waterproofs etc in the car. We spent a few hours on the platform, just mingling with the very many people who had dressed in their best for the occasion. Then we went to a cafe for drinks and cake, where the staff were also taking part in the fun, by dressing up. 

On the platform, we stood and listened to a fantastic jazz band, while expert dancers thrilled us with their moves. I would love to learn that dance ready for next year! From there we caught the free shuttle bus to Holt. A vintage London bus, which was fun. It was a slow drive, but as the notice on the bus said - it was 77 years old, and at that age most things are a bit slower! (I am not agreeing, just telling you what it said!)

At Holt there are lots of vintage clothing and artefact stalls. Just my kind of thing! Jon tries to walk past quickly, but he knows it's futile. Then suddenly, there was a tap on my shoulder, and Henry appeared! We were puzzled to say the least. He had changed his mind, and cycled from Gresham to Holt, along the back roads, following the map on this phone! It is about 7 miles, may be more!

So Henry joined us for the rest of the day. I bought a few bits from the said stalls, until my money had run out basically. I couldn't resist an old black and white photo, some old paper bags (I have a paper bag collection, so it isn't as bizarre as it seems) and some 1st WW german bank notes. I liked them! They will all fit in my glass cabinet - at a squeeze!

We had a cup of tea, chatted to a nice old man on the Royal Corp of Signals stand, who told us about morse code etc (Jon's granddad was in the corp in the 2ndWW and also looked after the pigeons, but he stayed in England we think) then we caught the free bus back to Sheringham.

Exhausted we got in the car and drove back to get Henry's bike, which was locked to the branch of a tree, and tucked into the bushes!

Back home, we decided on eggs for tea, but my hens have let me down. So in true wartime spirit, I cycled to the other end of the village, where we had seen eggs for sale outside someone's house. Powdered egg just isn't the same, and this week's food ration coupons have been used up. Thank goodness our neighbours keep chickens! I cooked a quick tea, then Jon & I went out to Cromer to see if we could get tickets for 'Bridget Jones's Baby'. We got the last two - front row. At least no one could block our view! It was hilarious and a great way to end a lovely day!

Just a few photos attached of our day. Once Henry was with us, he took charge of my camera....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.