St Andrews Hall, Norwich

St Andrews Hall

I took this from the office window today. Like most of the country, Norwich was very wet all day, so at lunchtime I decided to stay in! I do, however, have a bit of information which I took from a plaque on the side of St Andrews Hall earlier in the week. It says
'The nave of the conventual church of the Blackfriars was built at the expense of Sir Thomas Erpingham (1327-1428) - Warrior of Agincourt'

It was the 'Agincourt' that caught my eye when I walked past. I am aware that the battle of agincourt was part of the hundred years war, as Jon has a keen interest. The British used longbow which Jon uses in his archery, and in the war, the English and Welsh longbow men made up the majority of the army, and ultimately won it for them!

These halls are part of the most complete medieval friary complex in this country, dating back to the 14th c. It has also been used as a mint and a workhouse in it's time. I've only been in to visit a vintage fair! It is generally now used as a venue for all kinds of events.

I left work at 4 and luckily for me the 4.04 bus was delayed in the traffic, so I caught it with time to spare and was home at 5.

Jon had been in Cambridge and the weather really had not helped him with his Ranger work on the Downs. He got home in time to pick up Mollie and her bike, saving her a wet cycle ride home.

This evening, I went to do a tight budget shop (I dont get paid until Monday, and technically we have run out of food budget!), Mollie went out for a few hours in Cromer, and the boys went to scouts. So I've had the evening to my self. Home at 8, I put away my (very small amount of) shopping, washed up & did some ironing. I caught up with tonight's Archers on iplayer, and am glad for a happy ending for Helen. Let's hope Tom & Kirsty can make a new start now too!!

Now hoping the rain will ease so that we can enjoy our day tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.