Show of love

Best viewed *larger*

Okehampton Agricultural Show today, by far one of the better ones! Really great day, lovely warm sunshine, great livestock, people, entertainment, craft, food & beer tent! A perfect day practically! I took 796 photos - my own personal record!!! So it was incredibly difficult to pick one.... but then, when I took this photo I did think it would be a prime contender of not *the* one. The cattle are judged by breed, but by family too - so bull, cow & calf are taken - & cows are incredible mothers, so gentle, they're so big, but are so placid with their children, so protective. These are limousin cattle (I think! As many do look similar....) & are the staple beef breed originally from France & are now all over the world. If I had a farm, they wouldn't be my choice, I'd got for a native from here, like the Ruby Red's or South Devon's, but it's really about beef production, about money, not quality it seems... although all the cattle today where outstanding, I wouldn't have wanted to be a judge, if it would have been me judging, we'd still be standing in the ring at this time in the darkness & me changing my mind all the time.... :)

No Larry today, as at the show for some time & home & calling his name & no sign, but then I did warn you guys that he will disappear soon... it was a hot day, & with moulting feathers it would have been incredibly uncomfortable & itchy for him! So I found his:

Stand in

Another hot day predicted for tomorrow, so it's gardening, then collapse in the shade & a good book... really hoping a few butterflies will come out & dance in the dappled sunlight tomorrow, finger's crossed! xxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.