Flying Dog

I went to the Centenary Flying Display at Stow Maries Great War Aerodrome today. My camera is completely back to normal after its soaking. :)

I saw on Twitter yesterday that a Marie Lloyd impersonator had performed in The Airmen's Mess on the first day of the event. Thinking that would make a good pic to blip, I even read up on ML and her innuendo laden ditties. She came from Hoxton, where my MiL, who remembered seeing her on stage, lived.

I joined a coach party from Wales in the mess. They're spending the weekend in Essex. I spotted a glamorous woman in period costume thinking that she was Marie. I was mistaken, she was just on her way to the loo. :( I asked after Marie of one of the organisers who suggested that I should have a drink of water and then sing. An hour late the singer, Terry, arrived. :( Actually, though he wasn't in period attire, he had a very good voice and could play the piano standing up. I'd spun the singing so much that everyone joined in with gusto. :)

I was hoping for something a bit different to the usual displays but it was very similar to what I have seen before, enjoyable though. 

Quite a few private planes had flown in and I spotted this lovely little Jack Russell getting ready to take off. As you can see he is wearing his Mutt Muff ear defenders and his pink visitors ID bracelet. Love it that his master takes him flying.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.