Skylight

George and Kat dropped in to help watch Leicester City vs Manchester United on the box. Stunned silence after Man U scored three goals within five minutes. Time for me to pick up Colin to leave for Leicester.

We were in Leicester for the performance of the Brahms Requiem and Vaughan Williams' Five Mystical Songs by the Tudor Choir - of which I am a floating member - with the Cantus Choir and Orchestra of Stamford under the baton of Alwyn Pollard.

It was the first time I had been in the Catholic Holy Cross Priory Church, which comes under the Dominican Order. Pleasingly austere, but a lot of incense on first entry.

Naturally, suitable refreshment was required before, during and after rehearsal and performance, so we graced the Wetherspoons pub at the bottom of Dover Street. I don't normally associate Wetherspoons' pubs with beautiful things, but this stained glass skylight in The Last Plantagenet  has to be an exception.

As we walked up the road to the church, I remarked on the Dover Castle pub opposite The Little Theatre. Colin said, you don’t want to go in there! A magnificent rainbow flag flew outside. They wouldn’t hound me out, would they?

The concert was very enjoyable. Such a shame that so few people came to listen. The church had made great efforts with publicity but members of the choirs need to feel more responsible for marketing, particularly as the concert was in aid of LOROS.

As I write this the following Monday, I’ve been delighted to see a video excerpt of How Lovely Are Thy Dwellings on Facebook. It sounded better than I imagined.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.