Bird Cooperation

I was on the deck with Arvin without my camera as I'd already taken some photos on a walk including the one here of a red breasted sapsucker and was sure my blip was in the bag. Then I heard and saw quite a ruckus. Many birds were chasing another bird and its sound was one I was not used to. 

I grabbed my tele camera and headed down the alley to see what I would find. What I found was cooperation. The jays, crows, a raven and a flicker were all harassing this hawk. None of the other birds wanted him anywhere near their territory. They spun around and he moved from tree to tree making quite a racket. Finally they were able to drive him away. 

As soon as the hawk was gone the crows chased away the raven and then the crows and jays chased away the flicker. The two kinds of corvids seemed to get along fine even when there wasn't an intruder. I found the coalition quite fascinating. As for the hawk, I am not exactly sure what kind he is. Not a red tailed I don't think because his tail was dark with white markings. Nor a Cooper's because he was dark both front and back.. I think he might be a Swainson's Hawk or a Sharp Shinned Hawk.

We watched the Presidential debate this evening. I was amazed not really surprised how self centered and rude Trump was. I think Hillary held her own very well. Arvin got grumpy just from listening to the debate. Can't say I blame him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.