Jay Attacks Squirrel

The fat mother squirrel has been getting bolder and more greedy. This afternoon she sat on the edge of the birdbath removing the shells and eating peanuts without leaving the spot. The jays gathered around grumbling and scolding. And then they began to fly over her, taking turns, getting closer and closer. I didn't even realize that one had touched her until I was going through the photos I took. How brave is that! You can see more photos from today at Chaikins of Bellingham

Today was a different kind of day because Arvin stayed home. His small group has been cancelled and he had a couple of appointments so I didn't schedule any other coverage for him. I cancelled the second appointment of the day and good that I did as Arvin had one of his top molars extracted at the dentist's. That meant keeping him with some gauze in his mouth for an hour and then feeding him soft food. We had scrambled eggs for dinner and then met Helena for ice cream after. 

We watched TV in the evening and all was going well until I noticed that Arvin had his hand in his mouth and had reopened the wound from the extraction. It was right around bed time so I made him wait with more gauze in his mouth and did minimal getting him ready before he finally got to bed and to sleep. I really hope he'll be much better tomorrow. I promised him I would let him stay home if he felt as bad as he did this evening. It is my painting day so I really hope I don't have to do that. But if he is feeling rotten I will. Sigh. I hate missing painting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.