Mine! All mine

S had booked us all onto the Shotover Jet; a 25 minute ride in a powerful jetboat on the Shotover River. She and I had had a ride on a jetboat in the same place during a grand holiday we had after my graduation a long time ago. Through Central Otago to the West Coast, then north to Picton for the ferry to Wellington, followed by the train to Auckland. It is very different these many years later.

Today, the boats are bigger, the number of passengers is three to four times as many, and the speeds are much greater. Maximum speed reached was 90 km/hr this morning. Also they frequently do 360º turns; this seems to engender great squeals of delight, and a heavy dousing of water and spray. Until I found that pressing my left leg against the edge of the boat stabilised me both physically and mentally, I found the hair's breadth approach to the rocks and walls of the canyons quite tension inducing. The apparent solidity of the boat (and the knowledge that the driver of the boat wants to go home every evening) led to enjoyment of the experience. 

The boys and their mum loved it. As did S. Young L said to his Granny afterwards that "That was the best 25 minutes of my life". Perhaps a little hyperbolic, but intensely meant. 

This afternoon I accompanied Mr H on a walk through the Queenstown Gardens. For me to spot birds; the best photograph I got is this one of a tui claiming ownership of all the kowhai nectar in a tree. For Mr H to climb, jump, run and hunt for rocks. He particularly enjoyed climbing quickly and efficiently up the big rocks. See the extra for the action

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.